Mountain Harbor Resort


Wind
6 mph
Temperature
61° Mostly Cloudy
Humidity
50%



At Mountain Harbor Resort and Spa, we believe that the most important voice is from you - our friends, family, and guests. We try our best to post reviews here that are both helpful and detailed. Thank you to everyone who takes the time to e-mail us, respond via TripAdvisor, or simply send us a note about Harbor memories and experiences. We love hearing from you!
Also see our wedding reviews here!

Write a review of your own!
Complete our Guest Review Form.

May, 2014
“A great place to stay!!”
My 2 friends and I needed a get-away and decided that digging crystals in Mt. Ida would be lots of fun for us rock-hounds. The Joplin in is only a few miles from Mt. Ida and was a very lovely place. It is the perfect throw back to simpler times. At least it looks like a place that would be stuck in the 50's but open the door and it is quite a nice surprise. The beds were comfy, contemporary and even had swan towels to welcome us. We had a microwave and a refrigerator in our room which was handy to store drinks, fruit and my friend's very important insulin! The furniture was so nice, my friend opened all the drawers to find a tag so she could find out where to buy one like it. The only down side was that the bathroom needs a fan and the shower curtain smelled a bit musty, but that was hardly any reason to be upset at this lovely place. There is a sweet stream behind the place and it was gorgeous. We couldn't keep our hands off the rocks and only wished we had our camera with us. (we didn't want to drop it in the water as we were wading) On our way back to our room we found horseshoe pits, volleyball net, tables, laundry room and lots of room for kids to play. We understood why the families that had gathered there chose the Joplin Inn as their family reunion site. Don't get me wrong, this is not like a fancy, amenity laden place like you might find in the city, but a family friendly, homestyle, comfortable place that welcomes you like an old friend. There are even rocking chairs in front of each room. There's a convenience store directly across the street, too. If you like to fish, dig crystals or just need a spot to relax, you'll love this little gem

June, 2014

"Grounds were well kept, all staff were friendly & professional, rooms were large, clean & comfortable, restaurant had delicious food & wonderful waitstaff. We will be visiting again in two weeks and are looking forward to spending more time here!"

June, 2014
“Very Relaxing Stay”
"I've visited Mountain Harbor several time over the last 10+ years and have never been disappointed. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The restaurant is nice but not fancy, the food and service is very good. The location on the lake is about ideal, whether for fishing or just boating, and the grounds are well kept. I've always liked this resort and will be back.Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple."

May 2014
“A wonderful celebration.”
Absolutely wonderful. The staff hospitality was amazing. They accommodated anything we needed or wanted. 
We had a couple of condos and they were perfect for our trip. The 4 bedroom is so spacious that it was the congregating place and never felt crowded. The downstairs master was perfect as a separate living space for the kids and adults to have different activities. 
We also used the East Cove conference center and it was great. We would highly recommend it for any event. The staff was also very helpful in coordinating everything, from activities to recommendations on catering. 
Beautiful Lake Ouachita, once you experience it it's hard for others to measure up. 
Thank you again Mountain Harbor for making our celebration the best it could be.

May 2014
“Thank YOU for your Great Customer Service”GREATNESS !
I really appreciate your great staff; they took the time to find answers to my many questions -- on behalf of my big team members that stayed there for up to two weeks at a time in rotating days -- and was very personable with their help. As I had to deal with everything on the phone, this was greatly appreciated ! and I really appreciated your consideration and flexibility to work with our ever-changing schedules. Sharon Kelly/Garmin International  Stayed May 2014, traveled on business

Memorial Weekend, 2014
“The Best Family Vaca in the State”Reviewed 2 weeks agoTraveling the state extensively, Mountain Harbor is still the best place to make memories for families. The amenities are fantastic and the customer service is great. It is definitely an outdoor paradise, if you like that environment. highly recommend the spa, but call ahead, they are frequently booked. Also, don't forget restaurant delivery from the lodge is so helpful for a family to chill on their deck overlooking the lake after a day on the boat.

Three pools, kayak rental, and paddle boards, make for an adventurous weekend!! Can't wait to go back.

May 2014
“Great Wedding Spot!!!”
We stayed at the Joplin Inn with our wedding party and had a great experience overall. The staff everywhere from the Valero across the street to the Resort at the top of the hill was top-notch! 

We booked the entire Joplin Inn for our party of 30 and had a great time being together, the house was a perfect hangout for everyone and having the attached suite gave us two complete kitchens to keep all the food and drinks in. The private backyard was nice for the smokers and kiddo's, and the creek outback was a cool spot to find rocks and even some crystals. The lodge area was absolutely gorgeous as were the views from Micah's point where we had our ceremony. 

I can't say enough about the staff, but we called a couple times for things like extra towels and non-working wi-fi. Both times they had a staff member there within minutes to resolve the problem. 

The Joplin Store (Valero) across the street had great breakfast that tasted like a restaurant and not a gas station, and that Hunt Brother's pizza rocked. Stop for drinks on the way in when you hit Garland county or you'll have to drive back out as the area around the resort is dry.

Watch out for spiders as they are present in the areas (duh it's wooded).

If you have time for a day trip I highly recommend taking the drive to Mt. Magazine for the views offered. 

We did not get to go out on the lake due to weather, so can't wait to get back and do that plus some hiking. 

This place is a nature-lover's paradise! Thanks to Ashley for all the help with the wedding set-up.

May 2013
“Great stay!”
My husband an I stayed in one of the Harbor North cabins at our recent stay. We loved it and are already trying to decide when we can come back. The cabin had a beautiful view and the area was very tranquil and relaxing. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great getaway. Staff was very friendly and called frequently to see if we needed anything. Wonderful stay!!

April, 2013
“ACTS Women's Relaxing Resort Get-Away Retreat”
Cottage Rooms have beautiful Lake Views, with Hot Tubs & Grills on Decks. The rooms have a quiet atmosphere, are beautifully decorated, and come with Fire Places, Laundry Rooms, WiFi, Flat Screens, and fully stocked Kitchens. The Spa treatments are wonderfully relaxing and refreshing. The Party Barge Boat ride and leisure at the Marina are breath-taking. Basketball and Tennis Courts and Walking Trail are also available for outside fitness! Meeting Space and Outside Pavilion with Bon Fires are great! The overall weekend trip was truly Excellent! See our photos on Facebook at #ActsWomenRetreat2014Room Tip: Choose one of the Gorgeous rooms in Harbor North or 80B Peninsula Drive! They are very nice!

April, 2013
“Southern Paradise-
Mountain Harbor is truly a spectacular place. Whether you need to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city, or planning a family reunion, wedding or lake party, Mountain Harbor is THE place to go! From economical lodge rooms, Cottages or Cabanas to spacious 1, 2 or 3 bedroom condos, Mountain Harbor is sure to please any budget. Even if you are not necessarily a "lake" person, there is plenty to do here at this fully functioning resort. Take a dip in either one of the sparkling pools, challenge someone on the tennis courts, or have a relaxing massage in the spa right there on property! They also have Horseback riding and carriage rides, nature trails to hike or bike, and plenty of beautiful scenes to take in. The food is incredible with daily scruptious soups to perfectly prepared steaks....don't forget the Blackberry cobbler to top it all off! Nevertheless, the service here is impecable and they always treat you like family! Try it out, you won't be sorry!Room Tip: Most condos have jacuzzis.....great to relax after a fun day on the lake

October, 2013
"A Beautiful Retreat on Lake Ouachita"

"My husband and I had a wonderful 20th Anniversary at Mountain Harbor Resort in early October, staying 4 nights in one of Mountain Harbor's studio units overlooking the Marina and Lake Ouachita. The resort is nestled in pristine woodland on a section of Lake Ouachita and has all the amenities, including pool, restaurant, marina, spa, laundromat. The exteriors are rustic, but the interiors are modern, tastefully decorated, clean and comfortable. Our studio unit had a totally brand new kitchen, including appliances. We originally booked a Guest Room, but because of an unpleasant chemical smell, we were immediately upgraded to a Studio unit at no extra charge. Upon walking around, I noticed that the grounds are well maintained and have plenty of paved areas to walk or drive, and that the lodge area accommodations all have a lake view. We dined in the lodge restaurant, once for dinner and once for breakfast and found the food both times to be excellent and well prepared. The salad bar that came with dinner had a large variety of veggies and fruit, and the soup du jour was really good (Italian Sausage). The breakfast bar was also well stocked with hot breakfast food, yogurt, fruit, cereal, etc. The staff was friendly, courteous, and eager to make our visit enjoyable. They followed up with us to make sure everything was to our liking. Since we stayed off-season, the pool was closed, and the 'floating Subway' on the marina dock also closed. The only negative I found was that our room air conditioning didn't seem to cycle on enough during the night to keep the room as ventilated and cool as I would have liked. Other than that, everything was perfect. We are eagerly looking forward to coming back again next October to this beautiful place, and staying again at Mountain Harbor. Forget crystal mining, Mountain Harbor is the real gem!"

September, 2013
"Superb!"

"We stayed here for a Leadership Retreat. We had condo accommodations. There were two bedroom condos, each bedroom had a bathroom. The condo was spacious, and top notch. Super cute were the little towel creatures created on the beds.
The service was great, we had the food that was catered at the convention area, and it was delicious! Their guacamole was especially great!
We had rain, since it was September, but I could imagine this place would be amazing in the summer.
The pool, although we didn't swim, was the cleanest bluest pool ever. Very great stay, can't wait to bring family here."

September, 2013
"Rustic Lodge. Beautiful. Nature. Just what the Doctor ordered!"

"Our family stayed at the Lodge and rented a boat with driver to take us out on beautiful Lake Ouachita in Mountain Harbor. Totally worth the drive to Mt Ida, Arkansas - the pristine water, and untouched lake surrounded by national Forrest. We will certainly go back. The restaurant was good. Next time I hope to have a cabin with kitchen and or grill so I don't have to eat there every day, but it was great. I also recommend the Subway for a quick and easy breakfast sandwich. First time fishing for our boy and he loved it. Hoping to go back for another fall or spring weekend getaway! Thank you Mountain Harbor."

August, 2013
"Hidden Treasure - Must Love Quiet"

"Mountain Harbor is off the beaten path, but if you find it, you won't be sorry. The food, lodging and staff combine for the perfect weekend getaway or vacation. Understand you are nowhere near the amenities of urban life, but if you seek a pastoral retreat with swimming, boating, fishing, hiking or time in a world-class spa, Mountain Harbor is the place for you."

August, 2013
"Home away from Home"

"What a pleasant stay at Mountain Harbor. The amenities are great and the ease of getting around the resort is excellent. There's not a bad view from any of the facilities. The food at the restaurant was very good. We stayed in a cottage which was clean, and had everything we needed to feel like home. We grilled on the back deck and enjoyed the jacuzzi. We cooked indoors and enjoyed movies on the big flat screen at night with our kids. The lake is by far the most beautiful I have ever put my boat on. No matter where you on the lake the views are amazing. Ultra clean water and deep, cool coves offer a peaceful float or rip up the calm waters tubing and wake boarding. The only suggestion i have would be to add some outdoor ceiling fans on the decks of the cottages. We will definitely be back next year."

August, 2013
"Best Kept Secret in the South - Mountain Harbor Resort
"
"My family first visited Mountain Harbor Resort on gorgeous Lake Ouachita near Hot Springs, Arkansas in 2007 for a weekend wilderness trip - boating, fishing, trail riding. We were immediately charmed by the family-oriented, village-like charm Mountain Harbor offers. So much so, that in 2008, we purchased a home in Harbor South one of the resorts' cozy neighborhoods surrounded by the pristine Ouachita National Forest. In addition to being steps away from one of the clearest and most untouched lakes in the country, Mountain Harbor has provided our family with a TRUE home away from home. Swimming pools, pavilions for parties, trails to hike or trails to ride, a full-service marina, a fantastic gourmet restaurant, a beautiful spa - all designed to enrich our experience at Mountain Harbor. Special community events at July 4th, Easter, Thanksgiving, Christmas, and even a "blessing of the fleet" on the water the first official weekend of boating season have endeared this special place to our family. The staff at the Lodge Restaurant, the security personnel, the spa crew - all of them - go out of their way to say hello and make us feel special in so many ways. We have formed lifelong friendships as a result of our years at Mountain Harbor, and we are so happy that our daughter, and some day her family, will carry on the traditions we have started. If you haven't thought about Arkansas for a vacation, you should, and you should come visit Mountain Harbor."

July, 2013
"Beautiful Area ... Great Special Deals!"

"We rented a two bedroom, two bath condo, and received a great rate, as one of their summer package specials. The condo (22B NC) has a wooded view, which was very lovely from the deck. The condo itself was nicely kept, though a little older. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the housekeeping staff left a good supply of towels and washcloths. They also did a great job cleaning, as everything looked wonderful when we arrived! Overall, the lodge/restaurant staff was helpful. The restaurant food is very good, food portions for dinner are very large, and they will package for carry out or delivery. As we were there to dig in the local mines, this was very convenient, because on a couple of days we were just tired and ready for showers and food without going to eat in the restaurant in the evening. Watch their website for their package deals, and their FB page for last-minute specials. We enjoyed our stay there, and would recommend it to others! This would be a great place for a large family group to stay together, as some of the condos adjoin, and some of the rentals are large enough for a family group. With the location on the lake, and proximity to the local mines, there is plenty to do...fish, boat, jet ski, kayak, horseback ride, dig for quartz crystals, and hike."

July, 2013
"Lovely Getaway"

"This was a wonderful getaway for a long weekend. We had never had the pleasure of visiting Lake Ouachita before, and thoroughly enjoyed it with our two older teenagers. We stayed at Mountain Harbor Resort in Mount Ida, in a 2 bedroom/2 bath (unit 88A ) which was huge! The decor was '80s but immaculate. The balcony view of the lake was beautiful. We arrived on Saturday late afternoon, and just enjoyed the pool and property as well as the benefit concert being held in the nearby public park (think four wheelers and BBQ ribs-- raised lots of $$ for fallen constable families). Homestyle breakfast the next morning was a big hit. We rented jet skis through Dreamchaser, at the marina. On Sunday, we traveled to Ouachita State Park to rent a ski boat with a top (and a much better rate). What a wonderful day! July 8th with only a few boats on the water and the lake almost to ourselves. Incredible! Only the Brady Resort and the Mountain Harbor seem to be visible from the lake. All others are accessible from various coves. We stopped at the restaurant at Crystal Springs for lunch, which was lovely. We'll definitely be back!!"

July, 2013
"Great for a Family Reunion"

"Our family had its reunion here the weekend before the 4th of July. Three families rented homes and one family stayed in the lodge. All of our houses were great and fit our needs perfectly. They were also close in proximity and near the lake. Everything was clean and in good order. Also, the staff was friendly and attentive. One family had an upstairs commode stop up and the staff promptly fixed it and left champagne and a box of chocolates. Another family's choice of lodging had some buckling issues with the den floor and was offered an upgrade to a different house at check-in. All the houses had spacious living areas and decks. Ours was a 3 bedroom/3 bath unit that fit us perfectly. We all ate in the lodge restaurant one night with great results. The food was delicious and the staff handled our large group very well. All agreed that this was the best place we've been for our reunion. We'll be back!"

July, 2013
"Beautiful Area, Great Place to Relax"

"Located in the Ouachita National Forest on Lake Ouachita, thirty minutes from Hot Springs, AR, Mountain Harbor has everything you might be looking for.... boating, fishing, swimming, spa, etc. It is a well maintained and tightly controlled area with rentals spanning from hotel type lodgings to condominiums of various sizes."

June, 2013
"Absolutely Beautiful Place"

"We just returned from our first visit to Mountain Harbor. Since we decided to stay in one of the more expensive cabins, we were only able to stay two nights, which was too short of a visit. Being from the Dallas area, we were really appreciative of the beauty and especially the quiet of C18. The deck in the early morning was a true gift. The decor was absolutely beautiful and we were extremely impressed that it was so clean and that the air conditioning kept us very cool with no noise!

Our only blip in the radar was that when we arrived, we found that the free wireless would not connect. I did not feel that a real effort was made to help with that problem. As it turned out, we didn't even miss it. However, had we really needed it for business or other purposes, it would have been a problem. Since the cabin was so expensive, I felt that amenities that were offered on the web should have been provided. I suggested that they get the internet problem taken care of before their week-end guests came, especially if they included teenagers. :) For us, it turned out that we found we could survive without it, which was good for both of us.

We will return, but will probably choose to do so in the fall. We cannot imagine not staying in C18, so we will start a vacation fund in order to do so! The only staff we met was the lady at the desk and she was very nice. The owners should be proud of this fabulous property. I would highly recommend it."

*Since this review was left, Mountain Harbor staff has gone to great lengths to secure better Internet connection over to C18 by updating routers, trimming limbs, and working with our Internet service provider. All guests are encouraged to call the Lodge at 870-867-2191 should they experience any Internet connection problems, whatsoever. We love being able to offer FREE Wifi to our guests, and will ensure that we back up that guarantee.

May, 2013
"Perfect Girlfriend Spa Weekend"

"Just returned from a perfect girlfriend -get -together at Mountain Harbor Resort. We stayed in a beautiful cabin on the shores of Lake Ouachita. The cabin was perfect in every way and had all of the conveniences of home with a spectacular view! We spent Friday morning in the Turtle Cove Spa. All of us had a massage and some other treatments as well. We ate at the Lodge Restaurant -  which served the best mushroom cheeseburger I've ever had!

We topped the weekend off with a cruise on a 25 ft. party barge! The staff was exceptional and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. I hope we can return for another reunion at some point. Can't say enough good things about the all around friendliness of the staff at this place!!!"

February, 2013
"Beautiful Setting"

"We stayed 2 nights at Harbour House in the resort with another couple. The house was lovely, very spacious with almost everything you needed. We'd stocked up at Walmart on the way but the kitchen was missing a bread knife, scissors, a chopping board and a wooden spatula. It had a large deck overlooking the water and its private dock, with a BBQ, fire pit and hot tub. Our friends found the heating noisy and overpowering the first night so we turned it off the second night and it was still warm enough. As they were expecting an ice storm the staff brought us a torch, oil lamps and extra wood for the fire. The weather wasn't good so 2 nights was probably enough but had it been dry we'd have wanted to stay longer."

February, 2013
"Awesomely More than we EVER Expected!"

"We stayed last fall... They went out of their way to accomodate our date and need for handicapped accessibity! The restaurant was awesome! Such a variety and intimate! Beautiful views! The dog policy is awesome... As long as your dog doesn't act mean to others, they can run around while you watch them! Our dog loved it! The party barge was awesome! We had such fun on the lake... stopped at a few islands! The cabin was perfect! The hot tub was so relaxing... It was clean and well furnished and stocked! The spa is great! Nice people and a great massage! I just loved the different choices for cabins! Some close to the people and some off to yourself! We would recommend it to everyone! Cannot say more about how nice and accomodating everyone was!"

February, 2013
"A Little Piece of Heaven"

"We just returned from MVH and it was just about the best experience ever. My husband and I went there for their Valentine special. The entire MHV family (just doesn't feel right calling them staff) made our trip a very memorable trip. It's like their goal in life is to make everyone that is their guest as welcome as possible. I don't see how anyone could not rate this place a 9 1/2 and I only say that becauce you have to pay for any additional firewood. Any problems that came up was dealt with immediately, which was our fault. We locked ourselves out but they came immediately and let us back in. Everyone was very friendly and seemed to go out of their way to please. At the special dinner our waitress was Heather and she was exceptional. She told you exactly what everything was and stayed on top of taking care of everyone that was in her section. She had helpers that took care of refills or clearing the plates. They were all great. We are looking forward to coming back in the spring and can't wait. Thanks ya'll for making this a fantastic get-a-way. See you soon."

December, 2012
"Arkansas at its Best"

"Just returned from a fishing trip on beautiful Lake Ouachita and spent a full week in one of the timber view cottages. We have been making this trip for over 8 years and found Mountain Harbor to easily be head and shoulders above anywhere we have stayed in the local area. We wanted for nothing and I cannot tell you how great the fireplace, private hot tub, and a sizzling steak off our patio grill felt and tasted after 11 hours of hard fishing every day for a week. We will be back time and again, I recommend MHR to everyone looking for home-like atmosphere, beautiful scenery, wildlife, crystal clear water, and great fishing!"

November, 2012
"Great Fall Weekend!"

"I stayed at Mountain Harbor last weekend for a girls getaway. It couldn't have been a more relaxing, wonderful stay! The King studio was perfect for two and the staff couldn't be more friendly and accommodating. As always, the restaurant was exceptionally good and the staff there was great. I 100% recommend Mountain Harbor to anyone wanting a relaxing stay on beautiful Lake Ouachita, especially during the beautiful fall season."

October 26, 2012
"World Class with Extras!"

"Mountain Harbor is the best choice you can make if you want world class accommodations, exceeded only by their level of service. The natural beauty of the woods on the lake adds serenity as a backdrop, while the family operated resort treats you like royal family. Professionalism in every detail was delivered with warmth from the entire staff, including Turtle Cove Spa. Adriane, our Event Coordinator, is surely the Angel of Hospitality, and took excellent care of all 30 of us, while Chef Chris created menus to suit this group's diverse dietary needs. And the best catfish I ever tasted! We stayed in the Harbor North C20 cabin - Luxurious comfort, exquisitely decorated, tons of amenities, environmentally friendly, huge hot tub, and the most comfortable bed I ever slept on. I loved the Pavilion for group campfires on the lake at night, plus it's a beautiful spot for weddings/family reunions. I had the pleasure of meeting Bill, the owner, who made us feel like family right away. I even spotted him helping out in the restaurant on Sunday. My only regret is that the week went too fast! All of our future events will be based at Mountain Harbor Resort. We love you!"

October 23, 2012
"Beautiful Resort and Amazing Staff"

"Our group of 30 just returned from our 7-day stay at Mountain Harbor Resort and we can't wait to return! From Day 1 of planning this trip, their staff was extremely accommodating and made sure that anything we would possibly need was taken care of. Adriane is especially wonderful and we are very grateful for everything she did for our group to make sure our experience was great. The resort itself is nestled way back off of the main road on Lake Ouachita and gives ample opportunity to see wildlife and gaze at the stars at night. They have accommodations for every budget which is nice. Our group stayed at Harbor North and those cabins are absolutely beautiful. We didn't even want to participate in activities away from the resort, they just wanted to hang out at their beautiful cabins and enjoy nature! We can not rave anymore about this place and it's people. Everything is just perfect there and we are already planning a return trip for next Spring. Mountain Harbor Resort will be the only place that we stay from now on and we highly recommend them to anybody, whether you're by yourself or a large group, that is searching for accommodations in this area."

October 23, 2012
"I Felt so Nurtured in the Woods!"

"I loved my condo in the woods at Harbor East. The property is very large and there were very few people there in mid-October. It was very quiet and very dark at night so it made for great sleeping. The trees were just turning. Most of the staff was friendly and nice. My friend and I had a two-bedroom/two-bath place for a special of $125 a night. What a deal! We had plenty of room to spread out. I really didn't want to leave. The Joplin store at the main street has weekday specials that I enjoyed. It was close enough to crystal shopping at Mt. Ida and Jessieville and the mineral baths at Hot Springs. We didn't have internet in the room which was a little challenging. We had to use the laudry room for internet access as the lodge closed at 8pm. There were a few maintenance issues which were promptly fixed. Can't wait to go back!"

October 9, 2012
"No Better Place"

"Our group of 5 went to work/train on this beautiful lake. This resort is full of energy from the wildlife all around to the dedicated staff that welcomed us upon arrival and treated us like family. We stayed in an immaculate 3BR/3Bath cabin (ask for C7) that was fully equipped with amenities, plus. The view was beautiful. There were deer every where and very peaceful. Bill and Rita were excellent in handling our accommodation needs and answered all concerns both prior to arrival and during visit. If in this area, or not, you need to visit this resort."

September 28, 2012
"This is my Home Away from Home"
"I will and have always loved you guys. I have been on Lake Ouachita since I was a baby. This is my home away from home. My children know everyone on Dock "S" and everyone in the office, and at the Marina. You are really a part of the family. When my father passed away a year ago. I came straight here and hid out for 2 weeks to deal with it; left to get my affairs in order for a week, and came back another 2 week. You helped the kids and myself and husband more than you will ever know. I could feel him with us the whole time we where there. I went to Crystal as well, because this is where my dad fell in love with Lake Ouachita. We had a home away from home.  I can say that I love Mt.Harbor just as much. Nothing beats this place during the 4 of July. Everyone is nice and I love the fact that my puppy can stay with you guys in the office. She loves you, too! When we want to go straight to the restraunt after we get docked and don't have to go straight to the Condo to drop her off, I know she is getting spoiled beyond repair. At the Marina, it is just as wonderful. Everyone is very nice and really care about you. It is not just a job to you guys, you treat everyone like family. You can see that you are doing your best to keep this a place to remember. Thank you and see you soon!"

August 14, 2012
"Weekend of Family Fun"
"We just returned from a wonderful weekend at Mountain Harbor. We originally booked a King Studio at the Lodge but were able to take advantage of a condo special and upgraded to one of the 2-bedroom, 2 bathroom condos. Everyone (staff and guests alike) were very friendly; it definitely felt like we were being welcomed into part of a family. Here are some specifics:

1. The condo. We stayed in one of the condos in East Harbor by Turtle Cove Spa. There were four units in each building with parking in front. Once inside the condo, you felt completely secluded and surrounded by the beautiful trees. It was nice to be able to step outside and realize you were only a short walk from the spa, the lake, and the workout circuit. We met one of the owners of the other condos while unloading our car and they were very friendly and invited us to knock on their door if we needed anything. I think this speaks to the hospitality of the area. There was also a pool by the spa, but we chose to swim at the Lodge pool since there seemed to be more children for our son to play with. The kitchen was very well stocked. The dishes were newer, and there was dish detergent and dishwasher cubes. My only complaint about the room was that it had a slightly "musty" odor when we first arrived. I think this is to be expected (given the rustic setting and proximity to the lake), and a few sprays of Febreze took care of it. The shower pressure was wonderful and the AC (it was just under 100 degrees the weekend we were there) was cold. There was also a deck outside with a grill and table with four chairs. We didn't use the deck because we were so busy and it was hot. If you want to use the deck at night I would recommend some type of bug spray or repellent since you are literally sitting in the trees.

2. The Lodge. Up at Lodge there are two pools - a tiny kiddie pool and a larger pool in back between the Lodge and the marina. The restaurant is in the Lodge and the food is really good. They have a nice soup/salad bar that comes with most entrees or can be ordered separately. It was nice to be able to keep my family filled up with veggies - so often during vacation we eat unhealthy meals. At least one night try the huge sundae with the fudge brownie - YUM!! Across the parking lot from the Lodge is a laundry room and a small playground for kids. One of my favorite spots was on the deck outside the restaurant; I took a few minutes and sat outside with a glass of wine on a rocking chair overlooking the lake. Beautiful!! The Lodge also has "supplies" for purchase - we forgot bug spray and were able to stock up. Other than the outer deck area, I didn't see a "common" area that you find in some lodges (with a fireplace, chairs for socializing, books/videos to borrow, etc.) This area might exist but we didn't see one.

3. The Marina. Wow - the floating store and Subway are really great. Over the course of the weekend we purchased gallons of water for taking onto the lake, snacks, paper cups, sandwich bags, and two life jackets for our son (a traditional one and one for water play.) They also had convenience groceries, water sports supplies, and fishing supplies. It seemed very well-stocked, which is helpful because the nearest store is several miles away (and honestly, is not as well stocked.) Another favorite experience was taking our Subway sandwiches out onto the back dock and taking in the million-dollar view. You cannot help but relax in that setting. Obviously the prices are higher since it is on resort property, but we thought it was worth the convenience.

4. The grounds. We drove around and explored the grounds our first morning. Make sure to check out the view from Micah's point (North Harbor). The Joplin campground area has a nice swimming area; we saw several families with young children swimming there. I'm sure there are many more neat spots, but we didn't have time to see it all.

5. The lake. Another "wow"! I grew up boating on several lakes in Phoenix, AZ. None of those can compare to the beauty of Lake Ouachita. It really is stunning and peaceful. To save money, we drove about 30 miles to Lake Ouachita State Park and rented a 16-ft. fishing boat from the marina ($70 for a full day). The state park also has a pontoon boat for rent that is much cheaper. It took us about 45 minutes to get there one way, but was worth the money savings for us. Even though we weren't renting a boat from the Mountain Harbor marina, the staff at the marina took several minutes to tell us about the lake and recommend places to visit. They are the reason we went out to Hotel Island, which was perfect - easy to find and shallow water for swimming.

All in all a great family getaway! Here are a few more tips that we will remember for next time:
- Remember all the supplies (ice chest, sunblock, hats, bug spray)
-Remember it is a rustic setting - we went in the middle of the late-summer "spider" season. We could tell the condo had been treated for pest control because many of the "critters" we saw inside were dead, but we did have to share the condo with several 8-legged friends. I am more calm about this now than I was then! Next time I head into relative "wilderness," I will bring peppermint essential oil (as I have heard it repels the spiders).
-Even if you are newbies like us, you should probably bring some basic camping supplies to spend the day on the lake (e.g. a snake bite kit). We were talking to some fellow guests at the pool who saw some cottonmouths out on the lake. We didn't see any but it pays to be prepared.
-Remember MH is in a dry county. If you do not bring your own wine/beer/etc., you can head out to Lewis Liquor, about 8 miles back down the 270 and over the county line."

We will definitely be back!"


July 31, 2012
"Relaxing!"
"We have visited Mountain Harbor for 3 years and just love it! I am about to make other reservations for a fall trip. The folks there are so friendly and professional and the cabins are so clean and comfortable! Cant wait to get back!"

-Family actually stayed with us in March, 2012, and posted this in July.

June 24, 2012
"Relaxing Stay"
"We were looking for a quick trip to go somewhere for our birthday and honeymoon and I called Mountain Harbor to see if they had anything for one night. They were running a special on their condos! When we got there we loved it. It was spacious, quiet, and very nice. We also decided to get a massage from the spa and that was AMAZING!!! Best massage I've ever had and my husband who had never had one loved it and we can't wait to come back!! All the staff was so friendly, and we also ate at the lodge for dinner and breakfast and it was so good. We will for sure be back!"

June 17, 2012
"A Hidden Oasis"
"We just spent three nights at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa as we have been driving from New York to California. We picked this resort for two reasons: One, we wanted to make a stop between Little Rock, AR and Dallas,TX and two, we read the great reviews on Trip Advisor.

Upon our arrival, Julie at the front desk was very warm and friendly. We were allowed an early check-in, which was a sign of their welcoming accommodations. Our double bed room was spacious and had a nice view of the lake. However, the balcony was not gated in and since we are also traveling with two cocker spaniels, we were afraid that they would spend their time chasing after squirrels. Well, all it took was a phone call to Julie, who immediately took care of it. She spoke to Patty Brown, her boss. Ms. Brown came to our room within minutes and was incredibly accommodating. She showed us another room with a private balcony, which we fell in love with immediately.

The hospitality we received at Mountain Harbor surpassed our expectations. We spent the most relaxing three nights of our entire trip across the country thus far. Thank you Ms. Brown and your entire staff for making this trip a beautiful and relaxing get away from all the stress of traveling!

We will forever remember this awesome stop. And yes, we will most definitely return"

April 18, 2012
"Nice Place with Beautiful Views"
"We stayed at the Mt Harbor Resort for two nights in early April, 2012 while visiting the Mount Ida area. We stayed at the lodge, which was built in the 60's but has been refurbished recently. The room was quite spacious with a sitting area including a couch and desk. There is a nice patio off of each room that was very nice to sit out on for early morning coffee or late afternoon relaxation. Our room had a comfortable king size bed and the bathroom was spacious and clean. The Mt Harbor coffee was an added bonus!!!

We ate at the restaurant for two breakfasts and two dinners and were very satisfied with the food and service. Really enjoyed watching the purple martins take care of the mosquitos. Everyone we had contact with was very very friendly and helpful.

The resort was very quiet and I'm sure this was due to the time we were there---not really tourist season yet. Certainly we would stay there again."

April 5, 2012
“Incredible Luxurious Cabin had everything we needed! LOVED IT”

"We stayed here during the Ouachitat Mountain Bike Race Challenge. We stayed in one of the newer cabins- C23 - that overlooked the lake. At first when I booked it, I thought "dang" this is pretty expensive, but then when I arrived and walked into the cabin, "OMG gorgeous!" Worth every penny and pure luxury. The hot tub on the deck is perfect brand new and high end. The linens were high end, huge kitchen, very large bedrooms with flat screen tvs. The Kitchen has everything you need with cuisinart everything. We slept so good and the cabin is just gorgeous ...everything was immaculate !!! The views were great and the people who work at Mtn Harbor Resort are great too. Everyone is super friendly and the layout of the resort is great. I highly recommend it good location and a great time."

February, 2012
-An excerpt from an e-mail between a family of Rison, Arkansas, and Mountain Harbor:
They said ...
"I received an email yesterday from Mtn Harbor thanking us for our stay and welcoming us back anytime.  I just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed staying at the resort and we are looking forward to coming back soon!
 
This was our first time staying at the resort and I had low expectations because so many hotels and resorts in Hot Springs/Mt Ida are older and have never been updated.  But I was pleasantly surprised when I opened the door to the King Studio suite and saw all the updates and freshly painted walls, newly installed carpet and updated furniture and bedding.  When we do return for another visit I will be requesting that same room.  The room was great, but the customer service was even greater.  Diane took care of checking us in and made sure to include treats for our dogs.  Everyone was so friendly and accepting of our pets and we truly appreciate it!  We did order breakfast the morning we checked out and again, it was great.  I can't wait for our next visit and hope to see you soon!
 
Thanks again,
Emily & Brandon
Boat & Rebas"


December 2011
"Luxury on the Lake"
"My wife and I stayed here over Memorial Day weekend with my parents, brother and sister-in-law. We reserved one of the Harbor North Cabins, # C24. We were not sure what to expect, but we were more than blown away by how nice this cabin was. C24 is one of the largest 3 bedroom, 3 bath cottages offered at Mountain Harbor Resort. This allowed each couple in our group to have their own private space while still being able to enjoy the company of everyone else. My parents took the master bedroom which had a king bed. Each of the other guest rooms had two queen beds apiece. I suppose having two beds in each room would work great for larger families with kids. Each bedroom also had an exit onto the huge back deck that faced the marina. The deck had a nice outdoor dining table that we used for most meals as well as a hot tub. There are stairs off the deck that take you down to ground level. It is nicely wooded and you can easily walk down to the lake. The gentle slope makes this a great place to swim. The kitchen was fully equipped and the great room was full of comfy furniture. There is also a large dinning room table that is perfect for card games. We also used the swimming pool and restaurant on the property, but they are not close to the North Harbor Cabins, so you will have to drive around to that part of the property. Overall the cabin is clean and very well appointed. Its a perfect lake getaway!"
November 2011
"Would go back today!
"
"Great place, great service, super attentive, everyone friendly, bent over backwards to accomodate - even cleaned the carpets prior to our arrival per our request!! We don't usually stay someplace twice, even if its great because there are so many places to visit, but this one...well we would go back today! We rented a party barge for my birthday and had a great time on lake. We stayed in C17 and it was comfortable, clean, beautifully furnished, great view from deck and great hot tub. We cooked in all meals and enjoyed eating on deck or in beautiful dining room. We highly recommend it!"
November 2011
"Mountain Harbor Resort - the perfect fishing vacation destination"
"If you are coming to Lake Ouchita with friends or family, definitely stay in one of the cabins at Mountain Harbor Resort. I stayed in C14 which was a 2 bedroom cabin with a living/dining area, full kitchen , 2 bathrooms and a huge, private deck overlooking the lake. My cabin was very clean and comfortable with modern furnishings and decor. It was a 50-yard walk down to the covered dock where my fishing guides met me each morning. Bill, Pati and staff were very genuine people who will bend over backwards for you. Super place!"
August 2011
"Still Love it and Will Come Back!"
"If you're coming to Lake Ouachita, Mountain Harbor Resort is the place to be. We stayed in a New, 3 bedroom, 3 Bath Cabin with Huge living room, Fireplace and Kitchen. Has beautiful view, overlooking Marina and lake. Huge back porch with Hot Tub. The kids really love it and have asked to go back last 3 years. Lake is fabulous for sking and tubing. Service is great and ALL Employees at Mountain Harbor Resort are very friendly. They make you feel like your Home!!!! CHECK IT OUT!"
July 2010
"GREAT"
"Long story short, Mountain Harbor is one of the greatest resorts I've ever stayed in and my family and I won't be changing vacations spots any time soon."

We encourage you to visit Trip Advisor to see other reviews and comments.
Share: